Beef Enchilada Recipe!

Helloo everybody! First off thanks to everyone who read my blog recently its just been great. I really do appreciate the feedback and all the good words; it just made me want to work harder and make this blog the best I can :3 Next, I’m so sorry this blog was so late, I guess I’m still getting the hang of things. You know time management and all the actual work involved in having a blog that i didn’t consider 😀 It just took a while to decide the recipe, make it and write up and thing got a but hectic recently. But at least it’s here! So here we go…

I also apologise in advance for the chamge in quality of pictures, I changed the camera i was using.

Ingredients (serves 2-4)

  • Two large flour or corn tortillas
  • 100g of minced(ground) beef
  • 1/2 a yellow pepper
  • 1/2 a red pepper
  • 1 medium sized onion
  • 1 and 1/2 tablespoons of flour
  • 2 tablespoons of chilli powder
  • 1 stock cube
  • Approx. 250ml of hot water
  • 1 teaspoon of paprika
  • 1 teaspoon of cumin
  • 1 teaspoon of salt
  • 1 teaspoon of black pepper

Method

    1. Chop up onion and peppers and heat a tablespoon of vegetable oil in a pan.
    2. Add onion and mince beef into the pan.
    3. Cook the beef stirring constantly to stop it forming big chunks until brown. Once cooked, add 1/2 of the salt and black pepper.
    4. Then add the chopped peppers and stir for 1 or 2 minutes so the peppers will finish cooking in the oven. Take the pan off the heat.
    5. Heat the oven to 180°C and dissolve a stock cube.
    6. In a seperate pan, add two tablespoons of oil and heat up for a bit then add the flour and quickly whisk to prevent lumps.
    7. Once the flour is whisked in add the chilli powder, paprika, cumin and the rest of the salt then pour in the stock.
    8. Whisk quickly so the flour won’t clump up. Simmer for a few minutes until thickened and set aside. This is your enchilada sauce.
    9. Once the sauce has cooled down, spread some onto a room temperature( to make it pliable) tortilla and add half of the mince beef in the middle.
    10. Fold in the sides to the middleand then roll up like a burrito making sure it’s sealed. Repeat 9-10 again.
    11. Pour a bit of the enchilada sauce in the bottom of your tray and then put in the rolled up tortilla and pour over as much of the leftover sauce as you like then sprinkle grated cheese on top.
    12. Put it in the oven and bake for 10 minutes and grill for another 5-10 minutes until the top is crispy and golden.

Optional:Sprinkle sliced spring onions on top and allow to cool before serving. Enjoy!!

That is the end! I’m so glad i managed to do this. Thanks for all the support I might have just skipped this week had it not been for that soo thanks a bunch. I think the next blog will be a book review but it just depends if i finish a book in time. See y’all next week. If you liked today’s blog leave a request for anything else you’d like to see. I need ideas my brain needs you 😀 I will add a recipe for the tortilla chips I made and the salsa. It is of course optional.

Salsa and tortilla chips.

This takes a little while so it could be prepared whilst waiting for the enchiladas.

You will need:

  • 1 tortilla
  • 1 medium-large tomato
  • 1 small red onion
  • 1 chilli (red or green)
  • A handful of coriander
  • 1/2 a lemon
  • Sprinkle of salt
  • A drizze of oil

Method

  1. Heat the oven at 200°C and cut tortilla into triangles with a knife or scissors.
  2. Put the tortilla onto a tray and drizzle some oil and sprinkle some salt.
  3. Bake for 5-10 minutes until golden brown checking regularly.
  4. Meanwhile, chop up tomatoes, onion chilli and coriander and keep dicing until all the incorporated but it isn’t too smooth.
  5. Transfer to a bowl and squeeze in some lemon and sprinkle some salt and mix in.
  6. Once cooked, remove yhe tortilla from the oven and let it cool and them serve with salsa. Yum yum😋

I do realise that my salsa isn’t the best example so keep dicing a little longer than I did.

F,

Xo

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Maysam says:

    Wow this looks so delecious .makes my mouth water. I would live to give it a try. Didnt know you are such a talented cook oxox

    Like

    1. Abook&Abite says:

      It’s delicious! One tip, just roll yours up nice and thin so they’re not too big. X

      Like

  2. Bilqees says:

    OMG😍
    It looks soooooooo nice. I wish I could try it.

    Like

    1. Abook&Abite says:

      😄 it is really good

      Like

Leave a comment